Saturday, August 13, 2016

Beyond Series by Kit Rocha

I have recently discovered a new series by an author I was previously unfamiliar with.  It is set in a post-apocalyptic world that had hints of the Hunger Games set-up without the kids and tournament side of things.  I purchased the bundle of the first three novels as a set on Amazon.  This included: Beyond Shame, Beyond Control and Beyond Pain. 

Kit Rocha presents us with a world set around a central 'city' that holds the power, grown from the ashes of the previous civilization.  The wealthy and powerful live where they have running water, power, technology and a crazy amount of rules and regulations for their citizens.  They use servant/slave labor to run things for them.  Around the city are the slums/ghettos or numbered zones that are controlled by the powerful 'gangs' in each area.  And outside of this, a long way away are farms that produce most of the food.  Farms are harsh existences and not an idle place to live. 

15830843The Beyond Series is all about the gang that hold power in Section 4, the O'Kane gang.  There are not a lot of rules except don't cross or endanger a member of the gang and don't try to encroach on their thriving liquor business.  In Beyond Shame, a city Councilman's daughter breaks the two strikes you're out rule and is thrown outside the city walls.  She is eventually rescued by one of the O'Kane gang and taken in until she can get on her feet.  When it turns out that she has knowledge that can help the gang and one of the members becomes interested she must decide whether she'll return home when the opportunity arises or become a member of the O'Kane gang.
In Beyond Control the leader of the O'Kane gang must come to terms with the woman who is the unoffical 'Queen' of the O'Kane gang.  Either he learns to face reality or she'll leave the O'Kane gang for good.  And without her, it'll all fall apart.

In Beyond Pain a female rescued from the worst scenario must make amends with her new place in the world.  Taken in by the O'Kane gang and learning to trust them is the hardest thing she's had to do, but now they also want her to go back into the bowels of Section 3 to face the life that brought her to her worst moment.

I have every intention of reading the next books in this series, so far there's a second bundle containing books 4-6, a short story bundle and books 7 & 8 are available individually with book 9 to come out this Fall. 
  • #3.5: Baeyond Temptation -
  • #4: Beyond Jealousy -
  • #4.5: Beyond Solitude -
  • #5: Beyond Addiction  -
  • #5.5: Beyond Possession -
  • #6: Beyond Innocence -
  • #7: Beyond Ruin -
  • #8: Beyond Ecstasy -
  • #9: Beyond Surrender - Coming Fall 2016

No comments:

Post a Comment